go back


Early in the year, parliamentary forces are reorganized and become the New Model Army. This followed the Self Denying Ordinance, which stated that all MPs (except Oliver Cromwell and Henry Ireton) must give up their commands. The royalists are then crushed by the New Model Army at the Battle of Naseby and at Langport, near Yeovil, after which the Parliamentarians slowly gather strength.